Overview / Details
Constructed in 1882, Straus Lofts was known for much of its life as the John Wann Building. Named after its commissioner, an Irish emigrant, the John Wann Building was originally rented to the Noyes Brothers and Cutler Wholesale Druggest Company. The Noyes Brothers would go on to construct their own building one block north, helping to shape the Lowertown and Mears Park area.
A classic example of the Italianate design, Straus Lofts stands 5 stories tall with a cream colored brick facade and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
In 2003, Sherman Associates completed a historic adaptive reuse of the property transforming it into 49 affordable apartment homes and nearly 10,000 SF of commercial space.
Much of Straus’ historical charm was preserved while modern amenities and updates gave the classic beauty a new lease on life. Residents enjoy large closets, high ceilings, huge windows, and unique floor plans.
Part of a vibrant and revived community, Lowertown, Straus offers residents access to walking and biking trails, bus transit, light rail transit, restaurants, shopping, and Mears Park directly across the street.